Hey DJ

The last couple of years, I’ve had the privilege to photograph many events of Canada’s best DJ Starting from Scratch. In that time I’ve met all different types of people from all walks of life. One thing that I’ve always admired about Scratch is despite being idolised and worshipped by different audiences, he’s just a regular guy and shrugs away the accolades that his fans bestow upon him. I’ve been around DJ’s with one tenth of Scratch’s skill but ten times the attitude.

One of the people that I always saw at the events was a guy named DJ Andis. I didn’t know what he did, I just thought that he was a guy that liked Old School music. Later I found out that he was a DJ.

After a night of taking photos, Andis asked me for my business card and said that he wanted to do a photoshoot. Originally we wanted to do the pictures at Play de Record but our schedules didn’t allow that to happen. So he came to my home photo studio and we got to work.

I think it was a great situation being that we both love music albeit from different ends of the spectrum. He plays the music and I consume it, but music is a universal language. First, I started with an up and coming MC named Nick Grant then I changed the vibe a bit with some New Edition which brought us back to our youth and I just told him to dance and have fun. After all, in my opinion, the best DJ’s are the ones that feel the music and connect with their audience. I’ve seen Andis has been using some of these photos to promote his gigs and his radio show on Carib 101. Check him out and if you need a DJ to rock your party, he’s the guy.

Toronto DJ, Music, Hip Hop, Presskit
Thinkin’ of a Masterplan
Headphones, Toronto DJ, Music, Hip Hop, R&B
Music to my Ears
Toronto DJ, Serato, Vinyl, Music
Que up
DJ, Still life, crates, headphones, bag
Tools of the Trade

Leave a comment